Please read our guidance page about heritage designations.
Listed Building: FORMER EASTNEY HOUSE, LINKING ARCHWAY AND RAILINGS TEAPOT ROW (1387085)
| Grade | II |
|---|---|
| Authority | Historic England |
| NHLE UID | 1387085 |
| Date assigned | 25 September 1972 |
| Date last amended | 18 March 1999 |
Description
Includes: Nos.1 AND 2 ROYAL GATE. Includes: Nos.1 AND 2 CLOCK TOWER DRIVE. Includes: Nos 1-23 Teapot Row CLOCK TOWER DRIVE. Officers' quarters, part converted to offices, now flats and linking archway and attached railings. 1864-1866, designed by William Scamp for the Admiralty Works Department; converted 1995. Red brick in English bond with brighter-red brick arches; yellow-brick rusticated angle and dividing pilaster strips; ashlar plinth band, architraves, 1st-floor sillband and eaves cornice with blocking course. Slate roofs, that of former Eastney House and Terrace a hipped mansard with pedimented dormers. Tall multi-flue brick stacks to party walls. EXTERIOR: all of 3 storeys with basement and attic. Former Eastney House and Terrace (now Teapot Row nos 1-23) has south elevation of 23 bays, the 5 left-hand bays (former Eastney House) projecting slightly and the rest of the range divided into 3-bay sections. At east end is archway linking this range to former Alford House, with former Training Office to rear (now Clocktower Drive Nos 1 & 2 and Royal Gate Nos 1 & 2). This is of 4 bays, arranged 2:2 and with 2 attic windows. Windows have ashlar architraves and are round-arched on ground floor, segmental-arched above. Attached railings have spear-headed bars. Rear (north side) of former Eastney House and Terrace is similar, but with paired projecting 4-storey entrance bays, stepped back on 2nd and 3rd floors. Entrance to former Eastney House is on left (west) end within single-storey porch with round archway, cornice and blocking course. Linking archway has taller carriageway flanked by pedestrian arches, all round-arched with rusticated piers and arches; plain cornices and coped parapets above outer arches; deeper cornice and blocking course over central arch.
East elevation of former Alford House and former Training Office (Royal Gate Nos 1 & 2) is slightly asymmetrical, of 5+5 bays, those on right projecting slightly. Projecting full-height entrance bay to bay 3 has part-glazed door with rusticated surround up stone steps. Similar entrance in 2-storey slight projection with cornice and blocking course at bay 8. Windows are round-arched on ground floor, flat-arched above, the 2 left hand bays with blind windows on ground and 2nd floors. West elevation (Clocktower Drive Nos 1 & 2) has 2 similar entrances, now windows, and stone architraves to windows. INTERIOR: Eastney House, formerly the senior officer's residence, retains some panelled doors and shutters and decorative plaster ceilings (boxed in). Some similar features survive in Eastney Terrace. HISTORY: William Scamp was the assistant director of the Admiralty Works Department. The carefully laid-out site beside the seashore reflects its use by Marines; it is also probably the last large defensible barracks built in the country. Part of the best and most complete barracks of the post-Crimean War period. (Lloyd DW: Buildings of Portsmouth and its Environs: Portsmouth: 1974-: 84; PSA Drawings Collection, NMR, Swindon: 1864-1865: PTM/2172-2183).
Selected Sources
Books and journals
Lloyd, D W , Buildings of Portsmouth and its Environs, (1974), 84
External Links (1)
- View details on the National Heritage List for England (From EH UDS to Legacy x-reference)
Sources (1)
- SPM35 Index: Historic England. The National Heritage List for England.
Location
| Grid reference | SZ 6657 9870 (point) |
|---|---|
| Unitary Authority | Portsmouth City |
Related Monuments/Buildings (1)
Record last edited
Dec 11 2015 4:25PM