Please read our on the use of HER data.

Monument MPM1853 - Dockyard Wall

Summary

Section of boundary wall to Portsmouth Dockyard built 1704-1711.

Map

Type and Period (1)

Full Description

Section of boundary wall to Portsmouth Dockyard built 1704-1711. The red brick wall extends between the former detention centre (MPM800) and the Whitley Rooms (MPM818, on the site of the gatehouse to Marlborough Gate). It replaced wooden palisades of Bernard de Gomme's earth-rampart defences constructed during the 1660s-1680s, and marked the perimeter of the dockyard.

The date 1711 is set into brickwork at Bonfire Corner, and two stones carved with a fouled anchor. The wall has been incorporated into later dockyard buildings constructed at various points along its line. There are some 20th century repairs, and several 20th century interruptions along Marlborough Row. A former entrance to the Royal Naval Academy (MPM795) is still visible in the section of wall along Admiralty Road as a round arch of bright red bricks with a stone sill and plinth blocks, the entrance having been filled with bricks.


Historic England, The National Heritage List for England (Index). SPM35.

Moore, Pamela (ed), 1984, A Guide to the Industrial Archaeology of Hampshire and the Isle of Wight (Bibliographic reference). SPM470.

Sources/Archives (2)

  • ---XY SPM35 Index: Historic England. The National Heritage List for England. [Mapped feature: #2659 ]
  • --- SPM470 Bibliographic reference: Moore, Pamela (ed). 1984. A Guide to the Industrial Archaeology of Hampshire and the Isle of Wight.

Protected Status/Designation

Other Statuses/References

  • None recorded

Related Monuments/Buildings (0)

Related Events/Activities (0)

Finds (0)

Location

Grid reference Centred SU 631 005 (280m by 558m) (5 map features)
Unitary Authority Portsmouth City

Record last edited

Jul 1 2026 11:51AM