Please read our terms and conditions on the use of HER data.
Monument MPM791 - DOCKYARD EXTENSION WALL
Summary
Map
Type and Period (1)
Full Description
Dockyard wall built c1864 -1870 with 20th century alterations. Rubblestone and red brick. Chamfered plinth. Quoined brick pilaster strips and brick bands. Domed brick coping. Wall is approx. 4 metres high and at irregular intervals ramps up over round archways which give access to gun bastions which on the outer face of the wall are expressed as corbelled semi- circular oriels with 3 gun slits and coping. At intervals there are bricked-up quoined doorways with concreted lintels. Opposite building No. 3/88 (not included) is the old Pitt Street Gate which has rectangular piers of banded brick and concrete blocks with flat concrete coping and lamps; 2-leaf board gate with iron spikes. Near the Unicorn Gate on the inner side of the wall is a reset small iron cupboard having strap- hinged door with circular vents and central hole. Originally the cupboard was set nearer the Unicorn Gate and in the outer face of the wall; inside was a gas jet from which pipes could be lit. HISTORY: the cupboard was on the outside of the wall since smoking and carrying of matches was forbidden inside the dockyard. The wall was built as part of the dockyard extension programme which was begun in 1864, the scheme for it being drawn up by Colonel Sir Andrew Clarke (Royal Engineers).
Historic England, The National Heritage List for England (Index). SPM35.
Sources/Archives (1)
- ---XY SPM35 Index: Historic England. The National Heritage List for England. [Mapped feature: #526 ]
Protected Status/Designation
Other Statuses/References
- None recorded
Related Monuments/Buildings (0)
Related Events/Activities (0)
Finds (0)
Location
| Grid reference | Centred SU 639 010 (660m by 672m) (7 map features) |
|---|---|
| Unitary Authority | Portsmouth City |
Record last edited
Jul 1 2026 11:51AM