Please read our guidance page about heritage designations.
Scheduled Monument: Portsmouth Dockyard, the Docks (1001852)
| Authority | Historic England |
|---|---|
| NHLE UID | 1001852 |
Description
No 1 Basin, 1 to 6 Docks and the associated masonry sea walls. Scheduled as one item in accordance with Section 2 of the Ancient Monuments and Archaeological areas act 1979.
No. 1 basin dates from c.1690. This was extended at the end of the C18th by General Sir Samuel Bentham, K.S.G., Inspector General of Naval Works from 1795. In 1801 he built No. 1 Dock, in 1802 No. 2 Dock, and in 1803 No. 3 Dock.
No. 4 Dock started life in 1754 as a building slip, but was converted to its present use in 1772.
No. 5 Dock is the original Great Store Dock dating from William and Mary's reign.
No. 6 Dock appears on a 1714 plan of the yard, when it was known as the North Dock. At that time, it provided access to the North Basin. In 1772 it was converted into a single dock when the North Basin became a reservoir for the dock pumps.
External Links (1)
- View details on the National Heritage List for England (From EH UDS to Legacy x-reference)
Sources (2)
- SPM379 Index: English Heritage. ?. SAM/CNSR System.
- SPM35 Index: Historic England. The National Heritage List for England.
Location
| Grid reference | Centred SU 628 007 (243m by 266m) |
|---|---|
| Unitary Authority | Portsmouth City |
Related Monuments/Buildings (1)
Record last edited
Feb 13 2026 10:44AM