Please read our terms and conditions on the use of HER data.
Event/Activity EPM231 - Archaeological Watching Brief at Canalside Blocks, Gunwharf, Portsmouth
Technique(s)
Date
2002
Organisation
Gifford and Partners
Description
A watching brief was carried out by Gifford and Partners Ltd at the Canalside site, Gunwharf Quays, between March and August 2002. Archaeological monitoring took place on groundworks for the development of an 8-storey residential building with ground floor flats and sub-basement car park. The Canalside site formed the Northern edge of New Gunwharf (built 1797-1810).
Seven trial pits were excavated between the 18th and 22nd March 2002 to locate major obstructions. The main watching brief was conducted between the 3rd July and 17th August 2002. Archaeological monitoring was carried out during the removal of soil to allow the construction of the basement car park, and all archaeology above the base of the car park (approximately 0.96m OD) was recorded prior to being removed.
Archaeological monitoring did not take place on one occasion during the removal of walls below the car park as excavations were carried out without the knowledge of the archaeologist. This resulted in the removal of a large section of the surviving sluices belonging to the King's Mill before they could be recorded.
A number of features dating from the 17th to the 20th century relating to the development of Gunwharf and the town defences were recorded during the watching brief. These included the 17th century Sea Line Wall and moat, foundations of the Mill house, the quay wall and the remains of machinery associated with the smiths shop.
Sources/Archives (1)
- ---XY SPM519 Unpublished document: Barge, Melanie. 2002. Canalside Blocks Gunwharf Portsmouth: Report on the Archaeological Watching Brief. [Mapped features: #479 ; #480 ]
Location
| Grid reference | Centred SZ 631 998 (131m by 88m) (2 map features) |
|---|---|
| Unitary Authority | Portsmouth City |
Related Monuments/Buildings (7)
Record last edited
Jul 1 2026 11:49AM