Please read our terms and conditions on the use of HER data.
Monument MPM12 - Occupation, High Street Old Portsmouth
Summary
Map
Type and Period (8)
- OCCUPATION SITE (Medieval to Georgian - 1200 AD to 1800 AD)
- TIMBER FRAMED BUILDING (Medieval - 1200 AD to 1300 AD)
- WELL (Medieval - 1200 AD to 1300 AD)
- WELL (Stuart to Georgian - 1700 AD to 1800 AD)
- RUBBISH PIT (Medieval - 1200 AD to 1300 AD)
- RUBBISH PIT (Tudor to Georgian - 1540 AD to 1800 AD)
- CESS PIT (Stuart to Georgian - 1700 AD to 1800 AD)
- ANIMAL BURIAL (Undated)
Full Description
Occupation of site 13th to 19th century, with wide range of associated artefacts, particularly pottery. Excavated prior to redevelopment 1973/4. [1]
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Evidence of occupation dating to the 13th, 16th and 18th centuries, was revealed during a rescue excavation in the High Street, Old Portsmouth, in 1973. The site was located within an area that had been the garden to the Lieutenant Governor's House. The excavation revealed several fairly undisturbed medieval levels overlying the brickearth, which was cut into by a series of beam slots and assosiated post holes, possibly representing the rear wing of a 13th century building (see below). The timber cill beam had been removed at least once. The remains of the houses which probably stood along the High Street frontage in the medieval period, and certainly existed from the 16th century onwards, had been totally removed by the extensive 17th/18th century cellars. Further 13th/14th century features included a stone slab lined pit and a small well/pit lined with stone and half jointed planking.
A number of 13th century features, comprising traces of buildings, rubbish pits and wells, were recorded. The features had been preserved by the artificial heightening of the garden level. The remains of a timber framed building which stood on the extreme south of the site were represented by several beam slots, some of which had been recut at least twice. The building appeared to have been rectangular in form with at least one subdivision. A total of seven rubbish pits were revealed, all of which produced little evidence of pottery or animal remains. Two wells were excavated, one had been lined with flat slabs, the other with half-jointed planks. Both of the wells terminated above the present water table. It was thought that the lack of domestic material/deposits found may indicate a short or sparse occupation of the site during this period, or that it represents the periphery of the settlement.
There appeared to have been a break in occupation on the site between the 13th and early-16th century, although early maps of the area show occupation along both street frontages. This earlier occupation had been destroyed by 18th century development. Early-16th century features comprised two rubbish pits and a drainage channel.
The evidence for 15th and early 16th century occupation was sparse, but increased for the late-16th and early-17th centuries. A vast quantity of material was recovered for the late-17th and early-18th century, including Chinese pocelain of Kang His period, delft ware copies and other high quality wares from pits on the site.
18th century features associated with the Lieutenant Governor's House included a well, sump, rubbish and cess pits.
A large quantity of pottery was recovered from the site. The skeleton of a horse was also excavated.
The excavation archive is held by Portsmouth Museum Service under the Accession No: 1974/631
[2]
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The excavation took place in what had once been the garden to an 18th century house, formerely the residence of the Commander-in-Chief of the Navy (Admiralty House) and used as the residence of the Lieutenant Governor of Portsmouth between 1826 and 1884. The site was then occupied by the Electricty Company. [3]
<1> Portsmouth City Council, n/a, Portsmouth City SMR Cards, SZ69NW10 (Index). SPM1.
<2> Fox, Russ, 1973/1974, High Street Old Portsmouth (Excavation archive). SPM8.
<3> Backhouse, Tim, 2007-2016, History in Portsmouth (Bibliographic reference). SPM340.
Sources/Archives (3)
- <1> SPM1 Index: Portsmouth City Council. n/a. Portsmouth City SMR Cards. SZ69NW10.
- <2> SPM8 Excavation archive: Fox, Russ. 1973/1974. High Street Old Portsmouth.
- <3> SPM340 Bibliographic reference: Backhouse, Tim. 2007-2016. History in Portsmouth.
Protected Status/Designation
- Conservation Area 4: Old Portsmouth
Other Statuses/References
- None recorded
Related Monuments/Buildings (0)
Related Events/Activities (1)
Finds (2)
- VESSEL (Medieval to Georgian - 1200 AD to 1800 AD)
- MAMMAL REMAINS (Undated)
Location
| Grid reference | SZ 633 994 (point) |
|---|---|
| Unitary Authority | Portsmouth City |
Record last edited
Jul 1 2026 11:51AM