Please read our terms and conditions on the use of HER data.
Monument MPM377 - Lion Gate, original site
Summary
Map
Type and Period (1)
Full Description
Original site of Lion Gate. Built in 1777 the gate originally stood within the curtain wall of the Portsea Line of fortifications at the Western end of Queen Street. The fortifications were demolished during the c1860s and in 1871 Lion Gate was moved from Queen Street and re-erected as an entrance to the Naval Barracks, although it was subsequently taken down a few years later. The gate now stands underneath the Semaphore Tower in the Dockyard (see MPM813).
Patterson, B.H., 1987, A Military Heritage A History of Portsmouth & Portsea Town Fortifications (Bibliographic reference). SPM43.
Sources/Archives (1)
- --- SPM43 Bibliographic reference: Patterson, B.H.. 1987. A Military Heritage A History of Portsmouth & Portsea Town Fortifications.
Protected Status/Designation
- None recorded
Other Statuses/References
- None recorded
Related Monuments/Buildings (1)
Related Events/Activities (0)
Finds (0)
Location
| Grid reference | SU 637 004 (point) |
|---|---|
| Unitary Authority | Portsmouth City |
Record last edited
Jul 1 2026 11:51AM