Please read our terms and conditions on the use of HER data.
Monument MPM813 - THE LION GATE
Summary
Map
Type and Period (1)
Full Description
Lion Gate was built in 1778 as the main entrance through the Portsea line of fortifications to the district of Portsea. It originally stood at the eastern end of Queen Street (see MPM377). In 1871 Lion Gate was moved from Queen Street and re-erected as an entrance to the Naval Barracks, although it was subsequently taken down a few years later. The gate was then kept in store until 1929 when it was incorporated into the new Semaphore Tower where it forms part of the west (seaward) arch, known as the 'Gateway to Empire'. The gate has a cornice and pediment with a lion couchant bearing a flag. The following is inscribed on the elevation which faces the harbour 'THE LION GATEWAY PORTSEA BUILT 1778 INCORPORATED IN THE BUILDING IN THE YEAR 1929'.
Historic England, The National Heritage List for England (Index). SPM35.
Patterson, B.H., 1987, A Military Heritage A History of Portsmouth & Portsea Town Fortifications (Bibliographic reference). SPM43.
Naval Dockyards Society, 2015, 20th Century Naval Dockyards: Devonport and Portsmouth Characterisation Report (Bibliographic reference). SPM399.
Sources/Archives (3)
- --- SPM35 Index: Historic England. The National Heritage List for England.
- --- SPM399 Bibliographic reference: Naval Dockyards Society. 2015. 20th Century Naval Dockyards: Devonport and Portsmouth Characterisation Report.
- --- SPM43 Bibliographic reference: Patterson, B.H.. 1987. A Military Heritage A History of Portsmouth & Portsea Town Fortifications.
Protected Status/Designation
- Conservation Area 22: HM Naval Base and St George's Sqaure
- Listed Building (II) 1272303: THE LION GATE
Other Statuses/References
- None recorded
Related Monuments/Buildings (1)
Related Events/Activities (0)
Finds (0)
Location
| Grid reference | SU 627 004 (point) |
|---|---|
| Unitary Authority | Portsmouth City |
Record last edited
Jul 1 2026 11:51AM