Please read our guidance page about heritage designations.
Scheduled Monument: LONG CURTAIN, KING'S BASTION AND SPUR REDOUBT (1008754)
| Authority | Historic England |
|---|---|
| NHLE UID | 1008754 |
Description
Reasons for Designation
The strategic importance of Portsmouth grew rapidly after the middle of the seventeenth century and, in response to this, the earlier Elizabethan defences were updated and improved by the Dutch military engineer Sir Bernard de Gomme. His design included remodelling the existing ramparts, reconstructing the bastions, widening the moats, building the first ravelin and outworks designed to withstand prolonged sieges. Although defences of this type are common in mainland Europe, Portsmouth was the only British town of this date where they were adopted. This monument is of outstanding interest as the only surviving extant length of the ramparts and moat which enclosed Portsmouth. The Spur Redoubt forms an integral part of this defensive arrangement.
History
Legacy Record - This information may be included in the List Entry Details.
Details
This monument includes a stretch of curtain wall known as the Long Curtain, a length of contemporary moat, a substantial bastion called King's Bastion (or Wimbledon's Bastion as it was known in the 17th century) and the associated Spur Redoubt. The curtain wall is part of the 16th century Portsmouth town defences, later reconstructed by de Gomme. It survives as an earthen rampart with inclined inner face, flat top and stone outward face rising almost vertically from the moat. Above this is a brick parapet bordering a walk-way along the outward side of the rampart. The King's Bastion is four-sided, with two short flanks and two longer diagonal sides coming to an apex. The sides are stone-walled, with a low brick parapet wall and the top is banked and grassed. The curtain wall and bastion were re-utilised during the Second World War and traces of the artillery concrete bases survive. The Spur Redoubt was built in 1680 by de Gomme. Essentially the Spur Redoubt is a small fort of triangular plan, detached from the main fortifications, and was designed to strengthen the line at what was then considered a possibly vulnerable point. Access to the Spur Redoubt was through a brick lined sally port under the curtain wall and a light wooden bridge across the moat. Lord Nelson passed through this sally port in 1805 on his last departure from England. Following periods of dereliction and rebuilding the upper parts of the Spur were removed and the lower levels covered in 1934 when the public promenade was created. In 1988 an excavation and restoration programme revealed standing masonry up to 2m high on average and this has now been consolidated. Excluded from the scheduling are the path surfaces, lamp posts, two timber bridges, park benches, iron railings and a 24 pound cannon, although the ground beneath these features is included.
Selected Sources
Books and journals
Lloyd, D W , Buildings of Portsmouth and its Environs, (1974), 57-59
Other
Spur Redoubt, 1988, Unpublished paper
External Links (1)
- View details on the National Heritage List for England (From EH UDS to Legacy x-reference)
Sources (1)
- SPM35 Index: Historic England. The National Heritage List for England.
Location
| Grid reference | Centred SZ 6330 9910 (301m by 186m) |
|---|---|
| Unitary Authority | Portsmouth City |
Related Monuments/Buildings (8)
- Brick Wall Footings, Pembroke Path (Monument) (MPM1525)
- Brick Wall Footings, southern edge of Pembroke Path (Monument) (MPM1533)
- Concrete feature, Long Curtain (Monument) (MPM1867)
- Concrete Raft, near Long Curtain, Pembroke Path (Monument) (MPM1543)
- King's Bastion (Monument) (MPM1758)
- Limestone Wall, Long Curtain (Monument) (MPM1524)
- Long Curtain and Moat (Monument) (MPM1757)
- Spur Redoubt (Monument) (MPM37)
Record last edited
Dec 13 2017 10:14AM