Please read our on the use of HER data.

Building MPM725 - ST MARYS HOUSE INCLUDING LODGE AND COMMUNITY CENTRE

Summary

Former Portsea Island Union Workhouse opened in 1846. Now flats.

Map

Type and Period (3)

Full Description

The Portsea Island Union Workhouse opened in 1846. The building was designed by Augustus Livesay. The building was converted into flats in 1990, but the front façade remains intact. It is now called 'St Mary's House'.


Historic England, The National Heritage List for England (Index). SPM35.

Sources/Archives (1)

  • --- SPM35 Index: Historic England. The National Heritage List for England.

Protected Status/Designation

Other Statuses/References

  • None recorded

Related Monuments/Buildings (5)

Related Events/Activities (0)

Finds (0)

Location

Grid reference Centred SU 659 006 (124m by 46m)
Unitary Authority Portsmouth City

Record last edited

Jul 1 2026 11:51AM